NFF identifies camping sites, friendlies’ opponents

NFF 1st Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi and Sec Gen, Dr Mohammed Sanusi at a meeting with Eagles
NFF 1st Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi and Sec Gen, Dr Mohammed Sanusi at a meeting with Eagles

The leadership of Nigeria Football Federation has identified two camping/training sites for the Super Eagles at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia, and communicated same to world football –governing body, FIFA.

“A final site would be selected out of the two after inspection and approval by the technical crew led by Coach Gernot Rohr. This is in furtherance of our commitment to ensuring there are no issues outstanding that could constitute distraction before the World Cup.

“All plans for the World Cup are on course and a number of high profile preparatory matches have also been agreed, subject to the Final Draw on 1st December. The entire program would be unveiled after the Draw,” Shehu Dikko, NFF 2nd Vice President, said on Tuesday.

….. Gusau off to Morocco for CHAN meeting, draw ceremony

Meanwhile, Chairman of Chairmen of Nigerian Football and Member of the NFF Executive Committee, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau has departed for Rabat, Morocco for his first meeting as Member of the Organizing Committee for the African Nations Championship.

Gusau, who is also Chairman of the Zamfara State Football Association, is one of seven Nigerians recently appointed into various committees of the Confederation of African Football.

The meeting on Wednesday, 15th November will be followed by inspection of facilities that the North African country is putting forward to host the 5th African Nations Championship, scheduled for 12th January – 4thFebruary 2018.

Stadia, hotel and training facilities in the cities of Casablanca, Agadir, Tangier and Marrakech have been earmarked for the 24 –day, 16 –nation championship.

On Friday, the Draw Ceremony for the competition will hold, with the 16 qualified teams to be divided into four groups of four teams each.

TEAM QUALIFIED FOR MOROCCO 2018: Morocco, Nigeria, Libya, Uganda, Cote d’Ivoire, Mauritania, Sudan, Zambia, Equatorial Guinea, Congo, Cameroon, Angola, Namibia, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Rwanda.

Be the first to comment