NBBF calls 28 players for Women’s World cup to camp in Atlanta

The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF), has called up 28 players to begin camping ahead of the 2018 FIBA Women’s World Cup in Spain, in September.

A statement from NBBF Media Officer, Afolabi Oni, said that the list includes 10 players from the 2017 FIBA Afro Basket winning team in Mali.

Leading the pack are WNBA players, Evelyn Akhator of Dallas Wings and Ify Ibekwe of New York Liberty.

According to the statement, the invited players are to report to camp on, July 18, in Atlanta, Georgia for the team’s preparation for the FIBA 2018 Women’s World Cup. which starts on July 18, 2018.

“Team captain, Aisha Mohammed makes a return alongside co-captain, Ezinne Kalu; Sarah Ogoke, Cecilia Okoye, Nkechi Akashili and Upe Atosu.

Others are Atonye Nyingifa, Adaora Elonu, Perfumerias Avenida, Yakin Dugu and Ugo Uwaigwe who were all part of the 2017 title winning team.

Nicole Enabosi with the University of Delaware basketball team who made the 2018 CAA All-First Team, All-Defensive Team and the Colonial Athletics Association Women’s basketball player of the year was invited.

Hungary based Sarah Imovbioh, Nkem Akaraiwe (First Bank of Lagos) Uju Ugoka and Belgium based Elem Ibiam also made the team list.

Others on the list include U.S. based Patience Okpe, Promise Amukamara, Ayoleka Sodade, Elizabeth Balogun, Ijeoma Ajemba and the duo of James Juliet and Adaeze Alaeze who will be hoping to break into the team.

NCAA star with University of Syracuse, Jasmine Nwajei, Amy Okonkwo (Texas Christian University), Ashley Ezeh, Felicia Aiyeotan (University of Virginia) and Edeferioka Elo (Celta Zorka, Spain) complete the list.

“The team list was drawn up by the D’Tigress Technical crew headed by Sam Vincent,” the statement read.

It added that after the first phase of training in Atlanta, the team will return to Nigeria for the final phase of camping.

”They will afterwards jet out to Turkey for some grade A friendlies before the first Jump ball at the FIBA 2018 Women World Cup in Tenerife , Spain from Sept. 20th to Sept. 30.

According to the General Manager of the team Amachree Mactabene, uninvited players, who believe they have what it takes to be in the team are also free to report to camp at their own expense.

Such players would be assessed by the Coaching crew within the first week of training.

Full list of players:


1.Ezinne Kalu (PG) – Vasa Akademia, Hungary

  1. Upe Atosu (PG) – Labette College, (NJCAA)
  2. Promise Amukamara (PG) – Alexandria, Romania
  3. Jasmine Nwajei – (PG ) – University of Syracuse, (NCAA)
  4. Patience Nene Okpe (PG) -Panola College, (NJCAA)

6.Sarah Ogoke ( SG)- RC Celta, Spain

  1. Nkechi Akashili (SG) – First Bank, Nigeria
  2. Ayoleka Sodade (SG)- University of Buffalo, NY ,(NCAA)
  3. Elizabeth Balogun (SG) – Hamilton heights, Christian Academy, USA
  4. Ijeoma Ajemba (SG/SF) – University of North Carolina Greenboro (NCAA)
  5. Adaeze Alaeze (SG) Ciudad de la Adelantos, Spain


12.Adaora Elonu (SF)-Perfumerias Avenida Salamanca , Spain

  1. Atonye Nyingifa (SF)- Duran Maquinaria Ensino, Spain

14.Cecilia Okoye (SF) – Oviedo, Spain

  1. Ify Ibekwe (SF)- New York Liberty, WNBA
  2. Nicole Enabosi (SF) – University of Delaware (NCAA)
  3. Sarah Imovbioh (PF/C)- PEAC -Pecs, Hungary
  4. Nkem Akaraiwe (SF)- First Bank, Nigeria
  5. Uju Ugoka (PF) -Roche Vendee, France
  6. Amy Okonkwo (PF) – Texas Christian University (NCAA)
  7. Evelyn Akhator (PF) – Dallas Wings, WNBA
  8. Juliet James (PF) – Georgia State University, (NCAA)


  1. Ashley Ezeh (PF/C) – ADBA, Spain
  2. Aisha Mohammed ( C )- Istanbul University , Turkey
  3. Felicia Aiyeotan (C) – University of Virginia (NCAA).
  4. Edeferioka Elo (C) – Celta Zorka – Spain
  5. Ugo Uwaigwe (C) – Yakin Dugu U, Argentina
  6. Elem Ibiam (C)- Kangoeroes, Belgium.

Be the first to comment